Youth Ministry Institute

About the Youth Ministry Institute

The Youth Ministry Institute is a rigorous two year program that adults commit to in order to become certified as Youth Ministers. This nationally-recognized program is administered through the Archdiocese of Chicago in collaboration with the Center for Ministry Development. The adults who participate in this program commit to online work, homework, retreat days, and a final project. This is no easy task and we thank our adults who have committed their time and talents to being formed as pastoral leaders for our youth. 


The students who enroll in the Institute are placed on the United Catholic Youth Ministries Core Team in order to be immediately placed into the group of core leaders for Youth Ministry in Evanston & Skokie. When they begin their course work, students will discern a parish that participates in United Catholic Youth Ministries to become familiar with and join in order to have a reference point and place to focus on in their final project. Upon completion of the Institute, the students will have become familiar with a specific parish that participates in United Catholic Youth Ministries and might commit their time and what they learned in the Institute to advancing Youth Ministry work in that specific parish. 

image5

Ym Institute Students

Ben Landau

image6

BEN@ucym.org


Current UCYM Role:

Youth Group Coordinator, St. Nicholas Parish

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

Peer Ministry

St. Nicholas Parish

Maria Maldonado

image7

MARIA@ucym.org


Current UCYM Role:

L.I.T. Mentor, St. Nicholas Parish

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

In Discernment

Andrea Martinez

image8

ANDREA@ucym.org


Current UCYM Role:

Youth Board Member

Youth Minister, St. Nicholas Parish

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

Hispanic Ministry

St. Nicholas Parish

Tracey Dinh

image9

TRACEY@ucym.org


Current UCYM Role:

Youth Minister for L.I.T. Program

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

Leader-in-Training Program

St. Nicholas Parish


Carla Orduno

image10

CARLA@ucym.org


Current UCYM Role:

Youth Minister, St. Nicholas Parish

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

St. Joan of Arc Parish

St. Mary Parish

Daniela Menichella

image11

DANIELA@ucym.org


Current UCYM Role:

Youth Board Member

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

Confirmation Preparation

St. Athanasius Parish

Annemarie Silvera

image12

ANNEMARIE@ucym.org


Current UCYM Role:

Youth Minister, St. Nicholas Parish

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

St. Athanasius Parish

St. Mary Parish

Sam Carlson

image13

SCARLSON@NICKCHURCH.ORG


Current UCYM Role:

Coordinator, Young Adult Life, St. Nicholas Parish

Assigned Institute Parish(es)/Program:

St. Nicholas Parish

Post-High School Ministry